Blog categories


Announcing the Final Nominees for the 2013 Knight of Illumination Awards

UK – The eagerly anticipated shortlists of lighting designers nominated for a much-coveted Knight of Illumination Award have been announced.

Established to celebrate outstanding achievements in British lighting design in the sectors of TV, Theatre and Concert Touring and Events, the awards are voted on by panels of professional reviewers who work in each of the specific sectors.

“It’s been the most popular Knight of Illumination awards to date with an unprecedented number of submissions across the categories Theatre, Television and Concert Touring and Events,” says KOI Co-ordinator Durham Marenghi. “This year KOI organisers have been inundated with submissions of stunning lighting design work, all of which deserve the highest recognition for their creativity.”

So without further ado, and in alphabetical order, the following are the shortlists for each category of each sector:


Concert Touring and Events:

ARENA: Baz Halpin – Pink; Jamie Thompson – The Script; Ed Warren – Mumford and Sons

STAGE: Bruno Poet – Sigur Ros; Chris Swain – Two Door Cinema Club; Mark Wood – Lana del Rey

LIVE EVENT: Vince Foster – Queen’s Coronation Gala; James Waudby – ShangriLa; Patrick Woodroffe – London Olympics Ceremonies

VIDEO ELECTRONIC CONTENT: Es Devlin & Luke Halls – Pet Shop Boys; Sarah Hopper and Damian Hale – Sigur Ros; Ed Warren – Mumford and Sons



LIGHT ENTERTAINMENT: Dave Davey – Britain’s Got Talent Final; Gurdip Mahal and Ross Williams – The Voice Final; Oli Richards – The McFly Show

SMALL STUDIO: Colin Case – Howard Goodall’s History of Music;  Duncan Elsam – Smells Like Friday Night; Dave Gibson – Olympic Studio

DRAMA: Ashley Rowe BSC – Dancing on the Edge;  John Sorapure – Little Cracker; Chris Watts – Father Brown.

EVENTS: Nick Collier – Bollywood Carmen Live;  Bernie Davis – Funeral of Baroness Thatcher; Guy Hoare & Mike Le Fevre – Metamorphosis

GRAPHIC DISPLAY: Dave Davey – Dancing on Ice;  Gurdip Mahal, Ross Williams and Dave Newton – The Voice; Patrick Woodroffe – Olympic Opening Ceremony



DANCE: Damien Cooper & Matt Cox – The Oracle – Queen Elizabeth Hall; Fabiana Piccioli – iTMOi – Sadler’s Wells; Jean-Philippe Roy – Sideways Rain – Sadler’s Wells

OPERA: Jon Clark – Written on Skin – Royal Opera; Jean Kalman – Death in Venice – English National Opera; Mark Jonathan – Lulu – Welsh National Opera

PLAY: Charles Balfour – The River – Theatre Upstairs, Royal Court; Jon Clark – The Effect – Cottesloe, National Theatre; Mike Gunning – The Drowned Man – Punchdrunk at Temple Studios

MUSICALS: Paule Constable – Barnum – Chichester Festival Theatre Tent; Natasha Katz – Once – Phoenix Theatre; David Plater – This Is My Family – Studio, Sheffield Crucible

PROJECTION DESIGN: Lysander Ashton – Feast – Young Vic; Ravi Deepres – Raven Girl – Royal Ballet; Michel van de Aa – Sunken Garden – English National Opera at The Barbican


Topping off the evening’s celebrations with be the presentation of the Enrico Caironi Award for Lifetime Recognition. Previous winners include: Coral Cooper – 2010, Richard Pilbrow – 2011 and Bryan Leitch – 2012.

The Awards, which are organised by the ALD, STLD, Clay Paky and Ambersphere Solutions, are generously sponsored by Chroma-Q, Hawthorn, MA Lighting, Osram, Robert Juliat and XL Video and kindly supported by ABTT, ET Now, L&S America, L&SI, PLASA, The Theatres Trust and TPI magazine.

Winners will be announced at a sparkling ceremony on 6th October at ExCel London’s Platinum Suite and will follow on from the first day of the newly located PLASA Show. The ceremony is open to invited guests only.