Blog categories


Knight of Illumination Awards 2015 TV shortlist announced

UK – The Knight of Illumination Awards (KOI) TV judging panel has announced its eagerly anticipated shortlist for this year’s ceremony, which will take place at London’s glamorous Troxy club on Sunday 4th October.

Organised by the ALD, STLD, The Fifth Estate Ltd and Clay Paky and now in its 8th year, the KOI Awards is a celebration of the creative talents of international lighting and digital content designers working in the UK across TV, Theatre and Concert Touring and Events.

The sub-categories for Television are: Drama; Light Entertainment; Small Studio; Events; and Video Graphic Display.

The TV shortlist judging panel comprised: Stuart Gain (Chairman) – Rob Horne (Small Studio) – John O’Brien (Drama) – Stuart Gain (Light Entertainment) – John King (Events) and Mike LeFevre (Graphics).

The shortlist is as follows:

DRAMA – Gavin Finney for Wolf Hall; John Sorapure for Harry and Paul’s Story of the Twos; and John Daly for Up The Women.

LIGHT ENTERTAINMENT – Roger Williams for The Jump; Gurdip Mahal for The Voice Final; and Tom Sutherland for X Factor Bootcamp 6 Chairs Challenge.

SMALL STUDIO – Dave Evans for The One Show; Andy Cottey for Election 2015 Wales; and Jeremy Tobert for Weekend.

EVENTS – Gurdip Mahal for Sports Personality of the Year; Nick Collier for the Nobel Peace Prize Concert; and Nigel Catmur for Young Dancer Competition.

VIDEO GRAPHIC DISPLAY – Jack Linaker for the Nobel Peace Prize Concert; Dave Newton/Alberta Torres/Jessy Wang for Strictly Come Dancing; and Julien Rigal for Got To Dance Final.

“This year has given us a record number of entries, so the competition has been keen,” says STLD Chairman Stuart Gain, who is also chairman of KOI’s TV category. “It was decided to get the whole of the STLD Committee involved in the judging, so they were divided up into groups with a co-ordinator to come up with a shortlist. We then had a meeting to decide the winners. As in past years, there is an incredibly high standard of entries, particularly in Drama and Small Studio sections. I would like to thank all those who put in entries this year and wish all the shortlisted entries the best of luck.”

Awards co-coordinator, Durham Marenghi, comments: “A big thank you must go to the STLD for handling the nomination and organising the judging process for the KOI committee at a very busy time of year. We also thank them for finding a way for designers to submit their work for review in a world where many do not even posses DVD drives anymore.”

This year’s event is sponsored by Ambersphere Solutions, Ayrton, FIX8Group, Hawthorn, Light Initiative, MA Lighting, OSRAM, Robert Juliat and XL Video and supported by ABTT, ET Now, Lighting and Sound America, Lighting and Sound International, Mondo*dr, The Theatres Trust and Total Production International. Table sponsors include: AC Entertainment, Avolites, Chauvet Professional, Creative Technology, d3, ELP, ETC, GLP, GLS, Green Hippo, Howard Eaton Lighting, Martin Professional, Panalux, Philips Vari-Lite, PRG, Richard Martin Lighting, SGM, Stage Electrics, TMB, TSL and VER.